You are here: HOME > About us > All Regions > Region 3

 Region 3 

Level 1, 12 Moorefield Road, Johnsonville
Phone: 04 439 7880 
Region 3
< Please select a station to view details >
Arapawa Region 
About us

Region 3


Region 3 is serviced by 107 Fire Stations made up of:


  • 20 Career stations, of which 10 have a volunteer brigade attached (Composite)
  • 87 Volunteer stations




Region 3 covers an area of approximately 53,000 square kilometres from the Southern tip of North Island up the West Coast as far as New Plymouth and across to Hawke’s Bay on the East Coast (19% of New Zealand’s total land area), and is comprised of six areas (Taranaki, Whanganui, Manawatu, Hawkes Bay, Wellington and Hutt-Wairarapa). The Region also includes the Chatham Islands, one of New Zealand’s most isolated communities.

Primarily made up of rolling farmland, the region is divided into two parts by a mountainous ‘spine’ that runs its length.  Our most dominant geographic feature is Mt Taranaki, as well as the central volcanic plateau which includes Mt Ruapehu, Mt Ngauruhoe and Mt Tongariro. 


At the time of the last census (2006), 923,289 people lived in the region (23% of the national population). Of these, approximately half lived in the greater Wellington area with the remainder mainly living in lowland areas near rivers and on the coast.  Although the majority of the population is reasonably static, some areas, including the Hawke’s Bay and the Wairarapa, experience seasonal influx due to employment opportunities.

Region contact
Level 1, 12 Moorefield Road, Johnsonville