You are here: HOME > About us > Our Organisation > The Board
The Board of Commissioners 
The Board 

The board of the NZ Fire Service Commission is appointed by the Minister of Internal Affairs. Terms of appointment are usually for three years and members are eligible for reappointment.


The current members of the board are from left:


Angela Hauk-Willis

First appointed: July 2011


Profile: Self employed consultant specialising in change management, governance, professional conduct and risk management.


Career summary: Since arriving in New Zealand in 1980, Angela has held a number of senior management positions including, most recently, Deputy Secretary to The Treasury. She has been self-employed since 2010, consulting on organisational design and change and has conducted several organisational reviews.


Notable achievements:

Chartered member of the New Zealand Institute of Directors and a past recipient of the Chevening Aotearoa fellowship.


Other board appointments:

  • Independent Police Conduct Authority Board (member).
  • 2020 Communications Trust (trustee).
  • Disciplinary Tribunal of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants (lay member).
  • Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal (lay member).

Rangi Wills

First appointed: October 2012


Profile: Experienced career firefighter. Current Whanganui District Councillor and former Deputy Mayor who serves on many community boards in his native Whanganui.


Career summary: Served 34 years in the New Zealand Fire Service, holding senior ranks including Area Commander before taking early retirement in 1995. Former Director of Planning and Operations for the NZ Fire Service Commission for six years.


Notable achievements:

  • Deputy Mayor of Whanganui.
  • Elected for a fourth term as a District Councillor.
  • Served on Whanganui District Hospital Board.
  • Member of the Institution of Fire Engineers (England).

Other board appointments:

  • Whanganui Hospice (past Chair).
  • Whanganui Regional Museum (Deputy Chair).
  • Whanganui Regional Museum Tikanga Maori House Committee (Chair).
  • Te Wahi Puna Scholarship Committee for St Georges and Collegiate schools (Chair).
  • Whanganui Education Trust.
  • PowerCo Trust.
  • Grey Power Whanganui.
  • Putiki Wharanui Marae Committee (past Chair).
  • Rotary Club of Wanganui South and their charitable Trust (past President).

Wyatt Creech (Chair)

First appointed: September 2009


Profile: Five term Member of Parliament and Cabinet Minister in the National government for nine years in a variety of major portfolios, culminating in his appointment as Deputy Prime Minister in 1998.


Career summary: Wyatt studied sheep farming, arts and accountancy before becoming involved in the beginnings of the Wairarapa wine industry, founding Palliser Estate Vineyard in Martinborough.


He entered Parliament in 1988 and represented Wairarapa for four terms as a constituency MP with a further term on the National Party List. Wyatt spent nine years as a Cabinet Minister in high profile portfolios including Health, Education, Deputy Finance, State Owned Enterprises, Employment and Revenue, among others, and also served as on many Select Committees. Wyatt retired from Parliament at the 2002 election.


Notable achievements:

  • Deputy Prime Minister of New Zealand from 1998 to 1999.
  • Helped to negotiate the multi party Superannuation Accord and Memorandum of Understanding on Employment.
  • Helped to develop new Standing Orders for the MMP parliament in 1997.
  • Member of three International Election Observing Missions.
  • Member of the Technical Advisory Group on the Resource Management Act.
  • Chaired the review of the Canterbury Regional Council.

Other board appointments:

  • New Zealand Windfarms Ltd (Chair).
  • Healthcare New Zealand Ltd (Deputy Chair). 

Vicki Caisley

First appointed: December 2010


Profile: Current Head of People and Talent for Southern Cross Health Society, New Zealand’s largest private medical insurer.


Career summary: Vicki has held many roles in Human Resources management and as a consultant to the banking and finance, public health, not for profit and Fast Moving Consumer Goods sectors. Previously she was the Director of People and Culture at professional services firm Grant Thornton New Zealand Limited, with a key focus on cultural and organisational change management.


Vicki has expertise in industrial relations, culture transformation, business strategy and performance, governance, leadership and professional development.


Notable achievements:

Completed an Executive Master of Business Administration with Massey University, passing with Distinction.


Other board appointments:

  • Pacific Pearl Limited - bare boat charter business (Director)
  • Board member of her children’s local primary school.

Dave McFarlane

First appointed: October 2009


Profile: A volunteer firefighter who has given a lifetime of service community organisations in in his home town of Renwick in Marlborough including the Volunteer Fire Brigade, Lions Club and Rugby Football Club.

Career summary: Dave has 38 years experience as an operational firefighter, both as a volunteer and as a career firefighter for the NZ Defence Force for 18 years.

Dave has a background in building construction and for the past 15 years has worked as a contract manager, overseeing the construction of new buildings, building alterations and maintenance, and infrastructure development.


Notable achievements:

  • Former President of the United Fire Brigades’ Association
  • Oversaw fundraising to build Renwick Rugby Football Club clubrooms
  • “Honoured Member” status due to long involvement with Lions Club of Renwick
  • Assisted Renwick Volunteer Fire Brigade fundraising to supplement NZFS resources to build a new fire station.